• Awards
  • The 61st Missouri Photo Workshop / Festus & Crystal City, Mo.
  • Each year MPW honors several of its participants with awards recognizing exceptional levels of work, determination and spirit throughout the workshop.

    The Spirit of the Workshop Award is given annually to a photographer who not only creates an exceptional body of work throughout the week, but also one who totally embraces the philosophy of MPW, seeking to not only improve his/her own skills but to help fellow participants as well. This year's winner was Go Takayama.

    The Howard Chapnick Award is given annually in honor of the legendary Black Star photo agency founder, long-time MPW faculty member and author of Truth Needs No Ally. It recognizes a photographer who, with exceptional honesty and integrity, explores and documents an issue or story of great social concern. This year's winner was Cosmin Motei.

    The Biggest Leap is given annually to the photographer who made the greatest strides and biggest leap forward during the workshop. This year's winners were Chad Ziemendorf and Carlos Moreno.